Author Topic: Tubing thickness?  (Read 5120 times)

Eitek1

• View Profile
    • Email
Tubing thickness?
« on: May 25, 2016, 05:52:45 PM »
Anyone know the thickness of tubing used for the frames? I measured .080 but that seems to be an oddball size.

whoever had the simplex before I bought it used the crash bars at least once and it shows. I'm going to cut off the bent bars and install some new bars.

« Last Edit: May 25, 2016, 06:06:28 PM by Eitek1 »

ndian22

• View Profile
Re: Tubing thickness?
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2016, 07:09:16 PM »
Material matters more than thickness. DOM tube is used in most high quality racing builds but is expensive. DOM in .090" minimum though .120" wall is mo' better & higher still in price. Mistakes on bending aren't cheap. I've been twisting steel for 50 years so take all this with a grain of salt. We all have to make our own mistakes. Rick C.

Eitek1

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2016, 07:15:58 PM »
Thanks. I was going to use a few sticks of conduit to make sure I have all my bends right before I bend the real thing for that reason.

I'll find some .090 since it's pretty close to what's already there.

Ricks

• Administrator
  • 1953 Automatic
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2016, 06:37:28 AM »
1 x .083 DOM is a very common tube size.  That is the size I used to build my 3 wheel tribute truck.  When I measured the tube frame on that bike, I came up with .065 wall from the factory.  I decided to use .083 as the length of the truck is much longer.
Rick

kartjockey

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2016, 10:17:49 AM »
I agree with Rick

ndian22

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2016, 10:18:44 AM »