Author Topic: another barn fresh simplex  (Read 4720 times)

WestCoastTed

• View Profile
    • Email
another barn fresh simplex
« on: March 10, 2012, 04:57:42 PM »
Hello all.  I am a newbie to the simplex scene.  Recently I took in a 1954 servi-cycle for repair and restoration.  Normally I fix mowers and such, but was thrilled to take in one of these beautiful machines as a change of pace.  I would love to show you all it and post a few pics but I don't know how to "compress" the stupid pictures. I've lost an extensive post 3 times trying.  Help!

Mr. Soucheck has been wonderful at helping me get started on this project.  I have a motor that runs and a drive train that works however I notice play in the flywheel end of the motor after it is hot.  Plus it bogs out and quits. Hoping its just bearings.  However, when it is ice cold (Michigan) everything is tight as normal.  Yikes.

More shortly folks.  I'll consult someone on the picture thing so I can contribute a little better here.  Gotta go drink a beer and lower the ol blood pressure after the computer has won Round 1.LOL-Ted Wagner, Manistee, MI
« Last Edit: March 10, 2012, 05:17:43 PM by WestCoastTed »

Ricks

• Administrator
  • 1953 Automatic
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: another barn fresh simplex
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2012, 05:29:19 PM »
Ted, glad you made it over.  Send me the pictures and I will resize them and send them back to you.

Rick
Rick

Mike Sal

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2012, 09:11:43 PM »
Welcome Ted.  When you say your engine bogs down & quits, is it just losing power before dieing, or do you think it's trying to lock up.  Rick & i had a conversation a few days ago about how these engines need quite a bit of piston clearance.

The loose bearings is kinda wierd.  If you can move the flywheel up & down (or in & out) more so when it's hot than when it's cold, it's probably time for new ones & a crank seal.